Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Skip Navigation Linksemergency-committee


Safety & Emergency Response Committee Membership


​​The Safety and Emergency Response Committee (SERC) was originally established in 2007, based on the recommendation of a taskforce convened following the campus shootings at Virginia Tech.  Appointed by College President Rev. Brian J. Shanley, O.P., the taskforce conducted a comprehensive review of the College's Emergency Response Plan.  In addition to the creation of SERC, the taskforce recommended, and the College put in place, a number of emergency response initiatives, particularly in the area of emergency notification and communications.  These initiatives are described in the pages included in this site.​

​​​​​Committee Charge

Responsible for reviewing the various policies and procedures pertaining to the safety and security of students on the campus; to conduct periodic drills and training; and to review the appropriate procedures to determine if they comply with state and federal regulations. To make necessary recommendations when appropriate.

Committee Membership

John Leyden, Director Safety & Security
Brian Bartolini, Academic Affairs
Steven Basile, Facilities Planning
Michael Cuddy, O.P., Campus Ministry
Gail Dyer, Esq., General Counsel
Tiffany Gaffney, Assistant Dean of Students
Gale Gennaro, Environmental Health and Safety
Kristine Goodwin, Vice President of Student Affairs (ex officio)
James Campbell, AVP Student Affairs
Koren Kanadanian, Emergency Management (Chair)
Catherine Kelleher, R.N., Student Health
Steve Maurano, Public Affairs
Carmine Piscopo, Director Academic Computering
Donald Schattle, Information Security
Steven Sears, Asc VP Student Affairs
Kenneth Sicard, O.P., Executive Office (ex officio)
Jana Valentine, Director ​Residence Life